Word of the Year Recap

By now, you should know that I don’t make New Year’s resolutions….I do Christine Kane’s word-of-the-year thing, where you use a word as a touchstone throughout the year.

In 2016, my word was “shine”….and shine I did.  I gave a presentation at an international meeting for work, which was well received.  (The session organizer suggested that I write up the work for Microscopy Today.)  I went to Puerto Vallarta, Mexico, Bordeaux, France, Lake George, NY, and glamorous Columbus, Ohio.  I went to the Philadelphia Museum of Art, the Woodmere Museum, the Renwick Gallery, the Barnes Foundation, la Cite du Vin, the Jules Verne Museum, and Les Machine d’Ile.  I started a business, which grew through out the year, and stretched myself artistically. I threw a couple of parties at the Sparkle Lounge, and spent time and had adventures with my peeps, whom I adore.  There is much for which to be grateful.

But now it’s a new year, so I need a new word. The word for 2017 is “curate,” defined as:

cu·rate2
ˌkyo͝oˈrāt,ˈkyo͝oˌrāt/
verb
verb: curate; 3rd person present: curates; past tense: curated; past participle: curated; gerund or present participle: curating
  1. select, organize, and look after the items in (a collection or exhibition).
    “both exhibitions are curated by the museum’s director”
    • select the performers or performances that will feature in (an arts event or program).
      “in past years the festival has been curated by the likes of David Bowie”
    • select, organize, and present (online content, merchandise, information, etc.), typically using professional or expert knowledge.
      “nearly every major news organization is using Twitter’s new lists feature to curate tweets about the earthquake”

Although I have done some work in the last few years winnowing down the amount of stuff, but I still feel like there’s too much…too much clothing, too many books (well, maybe not really on that one), too much clutter in my itunes.  It’s time to scale all of that back, to just the things that I love, that I wear, that I use.  There’s also the matter of that fledgling business….now is the time to think about what exactly I want it to be, what kind of art do I want to make, and how to move forward.

So for me, “curate” is all about that selection process, about letting in the things that matter, and letting go of the ones that don’t quite fit.  A tall order, for sure, but a worthwhile exercise.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

