New Beginnings

Lately, it seems like almost everyone I know is going through some changes. It’s weird how sometimes, all (okay…many) of the existing patterns shift at once. It’s not my place to talk about what others are going through, but for me, it’s this:

Next weekend, ArtSci Designs makes its debut at Handmade Arlington. I’ve been working hard to build inventory, and learning how much I don’t know about starting a business. As ever, I couldn’t do it without my peeps. They’ve taken on the roles of business manager, marketing director, chief photographer, booth designer, customer, model, mentor, etc. So as much as I don’t know, one thing I know for sure is that they are awesome. (And that I am extremely lucky to have them.)

I thought I would see how this show went before I decided whether or not to actually turn this into a business….but sometimes things start running and the best you can hope for is to keep up. And remember, as the person that I first turned to for advice/mentoring pointed out, “Nothing is irrevocable.”

It’s exciting. And a little scary. And I’m not prepared to quit my day job and take this on full time. (Although I’ve been working at it practically full time to get ready for the show.) But it’ll be an interesting experience, and I’m learning a lot….and we’ll know in a week how it went.

handmadearlington

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Beginnings

  1. SuzieQ says:

    Exciting! Keep us posted.

    • artsy.sciencey says:

      I will. My marketing director (LOL…..I barely even have a business, but already I have staff!) is working on my website, so I’ll post that here when it’s up. Are you applying to Doylestown?

  2. sarahsorlien says:

    Your display looked great on Facebook! This is such a great adventure. Enjoy it all.

    • artsy.sciencey says:

      Thanks, Sarah! It was a good first show. Janice and Elisabeth helped design the booth, and i got many comments on how professional it looked and lots of positive feedback about the work. So it is a fun adventure!

Leave a Reply

