Gratitude

I feel like this gratitude post is getting a little routine. (Look! How very novel! Someone posting about what they’re grateful for on Thanksgiving….yawn.) But it’s not really an annual thing. I try hard to practice gratitude on an ongoing basis. Some days are easier than others, for sure, but there is always something for which to be grateful.

It’s easy to be grateful for the good stuff: cheese, music, employment…. It’s harder to be grateful for the not-so-good stuff: loss, sadness, stress. But that not-so-good stuff can be reframed as the ability to overcome obstacles, as strength, as resilience. All of it, good and bad, is what brought us to where we are now. And now is pretty darn good.

The only one thing that matters on my gratitude list, the thing that’s on there every year, the thing that is always #1 with a bullet: my peeps. I’m so lucky to have you all in my life. I hope you feel the same way.

Everything else pales in comparison.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gratitude

  1. elisabeth says:

    no one has been with me as long as you (well, by choice, anyway)…and for that I will always be grateful

Leave a Reply

