Birthday!

“Faster than you think, time staggers on…..” Dreams So Real, Metric

Today is my birthday, and it’s one of the landmark ones. I was a little worried about how I would feel, but it turns out that what everybody told me feels true. 40 is hard; 50 is easy.

At 40, I was mired in so many aspects of my life that were not good for my mental or physical health. At 50, I’m in a better place in nearly every way. I look better, I feel better, I’m on more stable ground.

Things have changed dramatically for me in the past couple of years. I could detail the changes, but instead, I’ll simplify them to this: life is short, so be happy. Surround yourself with people that make you feel better, not worse. Create an environment that feeds you, not one that saps you. Do things that fulfill you.

Last week at Clayathon, I mentioned to a friend that I had a big birthday coming up. Her response was, “Really? You don’t look it.” And, after a moment’s thought, she added, “You don’t act it, either.” Which I think she meant as a compliment.

I had a little dilemma this morning about how women dress at age 50. Did I need to wear something specific? In the end, I opted for clothes that make me feel good….my favorite jeans, a fuzzy sweater, Sasha Bell hoop earrings, and kick-ass studded boots. And I wanted to add something that I had made, so I put on the brooch I made in Thomas Mann’s class a couple of years ago.

sandwich_brooch

Everything in your past, both good and bad alike, has led to where you are now, right? I wouldn’t change a thing….and I’m interested to see what is yet to come.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Birthday!

  1. Sue says:

    🙂 Happy Birthday my friend!

  2. Happy Belated Birthday ♥ And yes, everything in our past makes us who we are, and I wouldn’t change a thing either. Hope you had a good one darlin, and best wishes for many fabulous ones to come. xx

  3. Jenn says:

    Happy belated birthday, or happy birthday week, if you prefer. Wishing you all the best for a fabulous year! T’was great to see you at Clayathon.

    • artsy.sciencey says:

      Thanks, Jenn! Yes, we’re big on the “birthday week” concept here. 🙂
      It was lovely to see you, too….we should try to get together more than once a year!

  4. ornamento says:

    Happy birthday 2 days late. Plumpton doesn’t act his age either. 🙂

Leave a Reply

