Anniversary

workpic1I was hired as a six-month temp at my company, in the QC lab at a manufacturing plant. This has been the longest six months of my life…..today is my 25th anniversary with them!

I’m not in the plant anymore, and I haven’t been for a long time. I transferred into Microscopy in Dec. 1990, and I’ve been there ever since.

It’s definitely been a career. Not the one I expected, necessarily, but a career nonetheless. I started as a low level technician (half a step above the mail room) and worked my way up to a PhD-level scientist and a recognized expert in my field. Who knew?

workpic2

Everyone says “it’s the people”, and it couldn’t be more true. This is a somewhat unusual working environment….we have a number of people that have been here, and working together, for a very long time. I don’t know of any other workplace where people socialize with their colleagues the way that we do. It is a rare and precious thing to get to spend my working hours with some of my closest friends.

But, as fun as it is being with all of them, I don’t plan on sticking around for another 25. 🙂

workpic3

No, I don’t know what happened to the scale bar on that top image. And no, I can’t tell you what the images are of. Sorry!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

