Joyce

the_belle_of_the_ball

My friend Joyce passed away on Monday. She’d been ill for some time, so it was not unexpected, but it still feels like it happened too soon. Joyce was a woman of great style (just see the photo above, taken at my birthday party two years ago), great humor, and great kindness. She was a fantastic cook and an even better artist. As she began to lose her strength, she would still want to cook delicious meals for us, but then would apologize because the napkins didn’t all match. (To which we would always say, “Why do we come to this restaurant again?”)

I admired her confidence, her ballsiness, and her style. Although I chafed against her treating me like “the Kid”, she certainly gave me something to which I could aspire. Losing her feels like someone turned out the lights.

Although Joyce would have hated AWOLNation (modern music, and by “modern”, I mean anything after about 1950, wasn’t her thing), I can’t get get the chorus from “Kill Your Heroes” out of my mind:

Fly, fly, baby don’t cry.
No need to worry ’cause
Everybody will die.
Every day we just
Go, go, baby don’t go.
Don’t you worry, we
Love you more than you know.

Safe travels, Joyce. We miss you already and will love you always.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Joyce

  1. SusieQ says:

    Oh Terri, I’m so sorry . I know you really valued her. Prayers for you and all who’s lives she touched.

  2. sarahsorlien says:

    What a lovely tribute to a vibrant dear woman.

  3. ornamento says:

    Terri, I am sorry that you lost a good friend. Joyce was quite a gal.

Leave a Reply

