Family Tree

forsythia1

Or family shrub, as the case may be. These are the forsythia blooming at my house. I have a whole row of them, and they are HUGE! Each and every one of them was grown from a clipping from the forsythia at my parents’ house, outside the room that was my bedroom growing up. I’ve been looking at these flowers every spring for almost my entire life. When I was a kid, the cardinals used to nest in the forsythia. I’m hoping that, eventually, the local cardinals will decide to do the same.

Also at my house (but not currently in bloom), I have a white rose bush that my dad grew from clippings from the rose bush at their house that was grown from clippings from his grandmother’s (my great-grandmother’s) rose bush. The way we tell the story is that she smuggled this rose bush out of Poland when they emigrated to the US early in the 20th century. I don’t know if that’s true, but it makes a good story. (And a wonderful scent. These roses are among the most fragrant I have ever smelled.)

I love that we have this familial continuity through plants. My brothers also have the same plants, grown from the same roots. Fortunately for me and my black thumb, these are good, strong plants….reflective of strong family ties.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Family Tree

  1. SuzieQ says:

    I love this! I have a few houseplants from people that I grew from a piece of theirs. One is from my favorite aunt. She passed away 48 years ago. How cool is that?!

  2. artsy.sciencey says:

    That’s fantastic! I’m just so very bad with plants. Fortunately, these plants all seem to manage themselves failrly well. At some point, I’ll have to trim the forsythia. I like them kind of big and wild and free….but at some point, they’ll be bigger than the house!

Leave a Reply

