Baby, I’m a Star!*

An internet radio station star, that is! Every radio station does its End-of-the-Year countdown every December. Internet radio is no exception to this rule. When Y-Not Radio, an internet radio station out of Philadelphia, put out the call to their listeners to contribute their top 20 of 2012 list, with a chance to win a $100 iTunes gift card, I responded. Never figured I’d win….but I did. The other part of the prize is that I got to go down to the radio station and play my top 20 on the air. Yikes! I wasn’t really planning on that! (Y’know, that whole not planning to win thing).

Josh (Y-Not’s main man) and DJ Amy made me feel totally comfortable (as did Starlet and Hugo, the very friendly station cats). The whole experience was a lot of fun, and my friends that listened in swear that I didn’t make too big of an ass out of myself. In no particular order, here’s what I chose for my top 20 of 2012:

Ho Hey–the Lumineers
Breathing Underwater–Metric
Madness–Muse
45–Gaslight Anthem
Myth–Beach House
Shake it Out–Florence + the Machine
Oblivion–Grimes
Ghosts in Empty Houses–Jukebox the Ghost
Automatic Systemic Habit–Garbage
Hold On When You Get Love & Let Go When You Give It–Stars
Wildest Moments–Jessie Ware
Little Talks–Of Monsters and Men
Tongue Tied–Grouplove
Losing You–Solange
Sleep Alone–Two Door Cinema Club
Video Games–Lana del Rey
All Your Gold–Bat for Lashes
Wandering Star–Polica
Take a Walk–Passion Pit
Hollywood Forever Cemetery Sings–Father John Misty

First up for that gift card…downloading the entire Polica album. Other musical suggestions are welcome, so feel free to chime in.

And, just for an extra plug, it’s annual licensing fee time for radio stations, which is a big expense for what is clearly a labor of love for Josh & the Y-Not team. If you’d like to help out, here’s where you can do that.

*A prize (TBD) to the first person that can source the title of this post without looking it up on the internets.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Baby, I’m a Star!*

  1. Jenn says:

    Prince. Purple Rain. =)

  2. Lisa Clarke says:

    I like a lot of the songs on that list (which means, it’s time to investigate the others!) đŸ™‚

    • artsy.sciencey says:

      The BFF tuned in, and said that she liked (but was unfamiliar with) a lot of the songs. Always fun to get turned on to new music! Hope you find something you like! (And if you have something interesting to suggest, I’d love to hear it.)

Leave a Reply

