“Word of the Year” for 2013

I was asked the other day to do a retrospective of my words-of-the-year. So before I move on to this year’s word….

2010: The word of the year was “out”….because I felt like we had accumulated too much stuff, like I couldn’t breathe for the weight of all of it.
2011: The word was “mojo”….because I felt like I’d lost mine, and wanted to get it back. Then the unexpected consequence of “out” happened (whoopsie!), and it became clear that “mojo” really was the right choice! (Read more about it here.)
2012: The word was “vivd”….which seemed like a fitting follow-up to “mojo”. The jury’s still out on how well it worked out for me, but overall, it feels like I did okay. (Read more about it here.)

And finally, the word for 2013 (definition courtesy of dictionary.com):

fit
1 [fit] Show IPA adjective, fit·ter, fit·test, verb, fit·ted or fit, fit·ting, noun.

adjective
1. adapted or suited; appropriate: This water isn’t fit for drinking. A long-necked giraffe is fit for browsing treetops.
2. proper or becoming: fit behavior.
3. qualified or competent, as for an office or function: a fit candidate.
4. prepared or ready: crops fit for gathering.
5. in good physical condition; in good health: He’s fit for the race.

verb (used with object)
7. to be adapted to or suitable for (a purpose, object, occasion, etc.).
8. to be proper or becoming for.
9. to be of the right size or shape for: The dress fitted her perfectly.
10. to adjust or make conform: to fit a ring to the finger.
11. to make qualified or competent: qualities that fit one for leadership.

verb (used without object)
15. to be suitable or proper.
16. to be of the right size or shape, as a garment for the wearer or any object or part for a thing to which it is applied: The shoes fit.

noun
17. the manner in which a thing fits: The fit was perfect.
18. something that fits: The coat is a poor fit.
19. the process of fitting.

Origin:
1325–75; Middle English fitten; akin to Middle Dutch vitten to befit

Synonyms
1. suitable, apt, corresponding, meet, applicable, apropos. 2. fitting, befitting. 5. healthy, hale, hardy, strong, robust.

Usage note
Both fit and fitted are standard as past tense and past participle of fit 1 : The new door fit (or fitted ) the old frame perfectly. The suit had fitted (or fit ) well last year. Fitted is somewhat more common than fit in the sense “to adjust, make conform”: The tailor fitted the suit with a minimum of fuss.

So I know that’s a whole lot of definition, but it encompasses a lot of aspects of my life. I want to focus this year on being mentally and physcially fit, on being well-adapted and compentent, on making sure that I get my clothes altered, so that I look and feel my best. And I want the transition to our new space at work to go smoothly, and hope that it turns out to be a good fit for how we work. And that I can fit the essentials into my new kitchen, in a way that makes good sense and improves functionality. I do not plan on throwing many hissy fits, or on spending much time being fit to be tied.

I know it’s a lot, but by using this word as a touchstone, a reminder, I think I can move toward a more fit place in a positive, constructive fashion.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Word of the Year” for 2013

  1. Sue says:

    It all seems to fit quite well my friend!

  2. artsy.sciencey says:

    Thanks, Suzie-Q! And happy new year to you & yours!

  3. Pingback: New Year, New You? | More Mojo, Less Hobo

Leave a Reply

