Gone

I’ve written a few times here about the permanence (or lack thereof) of things, people, aspects of world.  Things change, right?

To that end, as an early Christmas gift, I finally let the BFF rip out the last remnant of carpet that was there when I bought the house.  I was waiting until I painted the upstairs hall to remove it.  But it was the rattiest, ugliest bit of carpet….and paint or no paint, it was time for it to go.  I even bought her a teeny pry bar to get up the little tack-y carpet strips.  (‘Cause you know, chicks dig tools.)  Now I just need to run over the beautiful hardwood with some 0000 steel wool, and we’ll be good to go.

And this is part of the nature of change….you’ve got to let some stuff get gone (like ratty old carpet) to make room for some new good stuff (like pretty hardwood floors).  The trick is knowing which stuff to let go of and which to keep.  (Hey, BFF?  You’re not going anywhere.  Which, believe me,  is not the same as being a “kept woman.”)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gone

  1. Sue says:

    Oh… No doubt… She knows she’s not a kept woman. That was dreadful carpet ! Adois!

  2. artsy.sciencey says:

    Ha! She might like to be a kept woman, but I’m not sure I could afford to keep in the style to which she would like to become accustomed! On the flip side, it did make her deliriously happy to rip that carpet out….
    And you’re absolutely right. That carpet was dreadful indeed, and my house is better for its absence….and my lungs probably are, too.

Leave a Reply

