Fishtastrophe

Nine years ago, I had the idea to turn the downstairs bathtub into an indoor koi pond.  I decided this in December, and it’s hard to purchase koi in this part of the world at that time of year, and I wasn’t sure it would work anyway.  So I went to the pet store, bought a pond filter, a bunch of gravel, and some 12 cent feeder goldfish.

Thirty or so feeder fish later, I ended up with a stable tank, and five fish.  Three years ago, Big Red contracted a mysterious illness and passed away.  But a few days ago, the unthinkable happened….

While cleaning the tub, I dislodged the plug and created a leak.  This meant that the water was exchanged much more rapidly than the fish are accustomed to.   Unfortunately, Mohican and Houdini did not survive the shock.  It seems as though Mutt-n-Jeff and Noname are okay.

I feel horribly responsible.  (Well, because I am responsible….they didn’t clean their own tank.)  But I am trying to console myself with the fact that they had pretty good lives.  Nine years is a long time for a 12-cent feeder fish to live.  And I don’t know any other fish have as many friends as these guys do–everybody that uses the downstairs bathroom stops to play and talk with them.

So, since some of them have survived the fishtastrophe, I guess I’ll be going back to the pet store to get them some little buddies.  Any suggestions for names would be welcome.  (I’m already thinking one of them will be Gilligan.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fishtastrophe

  1. Sue says:

    I feel sick to my stomach! Did you plug the leak?!

    • artsy.sciencey says:

      I got a new plug with a broader flange (I think that’s the right word) and stopped the leak. It wasn’t that they didn’t have water, it was that there was too much new water all at once. I’m glad that two survived, but I still feel horrible about it.

  2. ornamento says:

    Stuff like that happens. Bob next door filled his pond too full of minnows and the big guys died.
    You were a good fish mom for 9 years. As for names, Ken knew a kid who called his gold fish Root Beer and Flat Tire. A college roomie had a Japanese fighting fish and a newt she named Merlin and Newt. All those critters are departed so you can use their names if you want.

    • artsy.sciencey says:

      Thanks. I like “Root Beer” as a name for a fish. I may use that one. I think I’ll have to upgrade with the new guys….the existing fish are large enough that 12-cent feeder fish might become just that.

  3. Pingback: R.I.P. Noname | More Mojo, Less Hobo

Leave a Reply

