What We Made: Jamestown 2012

Well, some of it anyway.  My lovely hostess was enjoying oil paints and polymer clay, and made some magnets reflective of the locale:

I was a little more eclectic (read as:  unfocused), and played with beads and clay and put together some of the components from CT and stuff:

Just as an FYI. the two faceted pyrite-looking things are made from an olive-y metallic clay that got partially cured somehow, which I faceted with the blade (with no particular crystal habit in mind, obviously), baked, and hit with guilder’s paste.  They really do look like pyrite, but at about a third of the weight.  I can see some interesting applications for that….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What We Made: Jamestown 2012

  1. Sue says:

    Awesome! Reds and greens. Now there is something unusual! The pyrite is superb!

  2. artsy.sciencey says:

    On our first pass through the bead store, I did not buy a single green bead. I didn’t even notice, but Sarah was shocked! And all I could say was “Things change.” The reds & oranges are a little bit of departure for me, but I like it.
    And thanks for the feedback on the pyrite. I dig it, but I wasn’t sure if it would appeal to others (although you and I may not be a representative sampling of the population as a whole.)

  3. Sue says:

    Well then…everybody else should get with our program! We have great taste!

  4. Sue says:

    I wonder how the guilder’s paste will hold up to wear…

    • artsy.sciencey says:

      The Baroque Arts website doesn’t specifically talk about jewelry applications, but they do recommend a clear top coat for items that will have continuous handling.
      In this particular case, the clay underneath is not a dramatically different color, and I really like the soft finish (which I think would change with a clear coat), so I’m just gonna roll with it. But it is something to keep in mind for future applications.

Leave a Reply

