Back to the Salt Mines

Not literally.  (Although if you ever get the chance to go to the Wieliczka salt mine outside of Krakow, do it!  For real.  Those miners were artists.)  But after a relaxing weekend in Jamestown, I did have to head back to work. 

Like many people, I get professional publications at work.  Microscopy Today, Microscopy & Microanalysis, and Scanning are just some of the magazines that I get.  And because they’re microscopy magazines, the articles tend to have lots of pretty pictures.  Over the years, I’ve taken back issues of the magazines and made collages for my office, like this (the very first one):

and this:

A couple of things about this one:  apparently, my attraction to orange isn’t new, and yes, that’s Keith Haring’s “Radiant Baby” (from a museum exhibit my mom & I went to in Montreal).

But really, where else besides microscopy will you find snowflakes next to diatoms next to Kikuchi patterns next to phase-separated liquids next to pop art?  (Oh, and although there’re no images of salt here, believe me when I tell you that dendritic salt, often used to flavor snack foods, is just gorgeous.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

