A Year in Review

In some ways, the more things change, the more they stay the same.  Things have changed a lot for me this year, but it feels like a reversion to a former self.  Stylistically, I find myself wearing things that I would have worn 20 years ago (albeit at a very different price point), and still totally rockin’ the look.  From a personnel standpoint, some people that I thought would be there forever are gone, some that I thought were gone forever are back, some new people just passed through and some stuck, and some people are simply constant.  For those people, I am truly grateful–they are the ones that help to make the hard things not-so-hard.  I took some classes and developed some new skills, but the aesthetic of my artwork is essentially unchanged.  My travel this year was strictly domestic, but it still happened and it was still excellent.  I saw at least one event that is widely recognized as momentous (the final Space Shuttle launch), but engaged in a thousand other moments that are equally memorable to me.

I often say that I lead a charmed life, and  I still think that’s true.  I’m fortunate to have a life filled with wonderfulness.  I have amazing people in my life.  I have my health.  I have the desire to learn new things and go new places, and can afford both the time and the money to make that happen.  This year might have presented some unexpected challenges, but overall, I still feel pretty lucky. 

And on that note, I wish you all a very happy new year.  Here’s to a charmed 2012!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Year in Review

  1. Suzie-Q says:

    Many blessings to you dear friend!

  2. artsy.sciencey says:

    Thanks, Suzie-Q. And Happy New Year to the entire clan! I saw your daughter yesterday–I didn’t realize she was working so close to me. We’re planning happy hour soon….

  3. baba paul says:

    Let me know if you take any classes. I’m looking for some to take!

Leave a Reply

