Cheese, Glorious Cheese

I’ve been in kind of a funk for the last few days.  In an effort to cheer myself up, I’ve decided to write about one of my favorite things.  That’s right (in case the title didn’t tip you off)….cheese.

Hands down, my all-time favorite cheese is Cypress Grove’s Humboldt Fog.  It’s a creamy, tangy, luscious goat cheese from CA, andI’m pretty sure I ate my weight in it during brunch once at the Hotel del Coronado.  Another favorite is the Rogue Creamery (OR) Rogue River Blue, winner of the 2011 American Cheese Society’s Best in Show award.  The first time I had this was at the Portland farmers’ market, but I believe it’s available at Whole Foods now.  (Humboldt Fog is also available there.)  Next, something a little newer.  Trader Joe’s has been carrying a cheese they call “Toscano”-a hard, nutty cheese with black peppercorns (similar to pecorino pepato) that’s truly excellent when shaved over asparagus.  On a recent visit to TJ’s, I noticed that they now have the Toscano soaked in syrah.  That’s right–wine and cheese together in a single bite.  What’s not to love about that?  Not to mention those old favorites–the Spanish sheep’s milk cheese like manchego and idiazabal.  Oh, and mozarella di bufala.  The best available locally is that made by DiBruno Bros. (sorry, Claudio!), but the best for the price is the house brand at Whole Foods.  I’m sure there’s more (Morbier?  Red Dragon?  Atwell’s Gold from Narragansett Creamery?), but I’m starting to get hungry.

I’ll leave you with one other thought….once upon a time, the BFF and I used to play “The Cheese Game” when we were out and bored.  Essentially, you identify a person somewhere in the room, and decide, if they were cheese, what kind of cheese would they be and why.  It’s surprisingly fun and creative–you should try it some time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cheese, Glorious Cheese

  1. Sarah Sorlien says:

    P’tit Basque, yum

  2. artsy.sciencey says:

    Ooooh….I forgot about the P’tit Basque. That’s some good stuff.

Leave a Reply

